Home Australia The Results of the 2018 AIBA Have Been Announced!

The Results of the 2018 AIBA Have Been Announced!

The results of the 2018 Australian International Beer Awards (AIBA) were announced last week at a gala dinner in Melbourne attended by over 800 people.

The 26th installment of the world’s largest annual beer competition saw a panel of close to 80 local and international judges assess a record 2,178 draught and packaged entries across a range of categories.

Over the course of the evening, 10 champion trophies and 19 major trophies were awarded to a variety of beer styles, with nine awarded to international breweries, four to New South Wales based breweries, two to Victorian and Western Australian breweries and one each to breweries from Queensland and Tasmania.

Congratulations to all the winners, especially the champion trophy recipients listed below.

Champion Australian Beer presented by Barrett Burston Malting Co & Cryer Malt Beerland Wheat Beer (Draught) – Beerland Brewing, Whitfords WA, Australia

Champion International Beer presented by RASV
Knotty (Packaged) – Three Weavers Brewing Company, California, USA

Champion Large Australian Brewery presented by Barrett Burston Malting Co Mountain Goat Beer Pty Ltd, Vic, Australia

Champion Large International Brewery presented by Hop Products Australia on behalf of Barth Haas Group
Firestone Walker Brewing Co., California, USA

Champion Medium Australian Brewery presented by CryerMalt
Green Beacon Brewing Co, QLD, Australia

Champion Medium International Brewery presented by RASV
Mahrs Bräu Bamberg GMBH, Franconia/Bavaria, Germany

Champion Small Australian Brewery presented by FB*PROPAK
Black Hops Brewing, QLD, Australia

Champion Small International Brewery presented by RASV
Kereru Brewing Company Limited, Wellington, NZ

Gary Sheppard Memorial Trophy for Best New Exhibitor
Brownstone Microbrewery, Vic, Australia

Australian Gypsy Brewer Award presented by FB*PROPAK
Philter Brewing, NSW, Australia